It’s an Island life for me…BELIZE

When: 10th – 15th March 2014
Where: Caye Caulker and San Ignacio
People I met: Marko&Anna-Mari, Linda, Patrick, Steve, Andrew, Teresa, Benny, Dom, Nate, Jonas&Oliver, Katie&Alec

I started my solo adventure with an overnight bus from Cancun – Mexico. Admittedly I was a bit nervous but I soon discovered I had nothing to worry about when I made friends with the other travellers on the bus. We were held up at the mexican border as they asked us all to pay a $25 departure tax, which is illegal, but after much discussion we all decided it was too hard to fight so we just paid it and were on our way. I caught the water taxi from Belize City to Caye Caulker with a Finnish Couple (Marko and Ana) who I met on the bus. We ended up staying together for the first two nights in a beach bungalow. Caye Caulker was a tropical paradise where we swam, sunbathed, ate good food and embraced the islands moto of ‘go slow’. After the first two nights we moved into a hostel called Dirty Mcnastys where we could watch amazing sunsets on top of an unfinished building and drink free rum punch until it ran out! One day Patrick, Linda, Steve, Teresa, Frenchie and I decided to canoe around the island and have beers on the other side of the split. Later on Patrick introduced us to an Incan game called Prudo which provided hours of entertainment. Patrick, Linda, Steve and Andrew also convinced me to head to Guatemala with them. So I said goodbye to Anna&Marko and headed off the Flores with the ‘wolfpack’.
We arrived in Belize City after dark which is not something I advise anyone to do, it is not a nice city. We then caught a chicken bus from Belize City to San Ignacio which was an experience and a half. The capacity of the bus was defiantly exceeded and at one point our backpacks almost went flying out the back door when a man tried to enter through the rear while the bus was moving! After a few hours we made it and checked into Bella’s hostel. Our one day in San Ignacio began with a stroll through the markets and ended with a swim at monkey falls. That night we convinced Dom, Nate, Oliver and Jonas to come along with us to the next location!
ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

